Charly East x Jean Grae x Pharoahe Monch

24 Jun

“AYE. What instrument you play?”
I’m on 7th & 27th in downtown NY when this random ass guy walks up to me and says he’s a “producer who wants to make some craaaaazy music!” Don’t we all? So over it. I hop in a white car and chat with a man named Guy I have never seen before about the direction artists should take when beginning their careers.. and he is intelligent and unbiased, so the shit sounds great.

I went to Brooklyn. Better yet, Greenpoint, Brooklyn. Hadn’t eaten or slept in a day already, and here I was inside a very neat recording studio wearing a blue romper & jumping around with my violin speaking in those accents I do love..

I was asked personally by Jean Grae to feature violin on her upcoming album. I didn’t know what to expect, but this lifelike doll in a white and red patterned sundress–complete with some gangster ass asian tattoos everywhere–came up and shook my hand and it was history. We arranged strings together for hours.. and yes, her musical sense is incredible. It’s another kinda thing when the artists you work with have such a solid vision for what they want you to do with them.. not the usual “so we juss’ gon’ meet up in the studio and then just take it from there!” shit.

On top of that, Pharoahe Monch was in the studio as well.. and guess who arranged strings for him on a track featuring Phonte & Styles P? Yours truly, the Easterbunny.

And, get this.. who randomly fuckin goes to a Talib Qweli show (completely faded) and gets to watch Jean Grae perform her ass off in front of hundreds of the most beautiful young & colorful faces I have ever seen in NY?

h-town baybeeehhhhh

not drunk yet. i swear.

that's a big ass violin.

he is really really good, way better than me actually.


so on the right, here we have a bow with mongolian horse hair..

6 Responses to “Charly East x Jean Grae x Pharoahe Monch”

  1. fizzy July 2, 2010 at 6:36 PM #

    you’re really lucky. keep it up.

  2. Sean Padilla June 24, 2010 at 1:28 PM #

    You are living life the way it should be. 🙂

  3. c.blak June 24, 2010 at 1:08 PM #

    That’s crazy! Sounds like you had an awesome time. Life can be like that sometimes.

  4. Yael June 24, 2010 at 12:20 PM #

    Thats whats I’m talking about you are a true beast on that violin and your future has already been written now you are about to get it on! I damn sure wish you were in NY while I was there but anyways I will be there again soon hopefully we can kick it! Stay true to your shit always. You are a true, gifted artist with lots of commercial appeal. I hear it, see it in your works of art and in you as a person. – PEACE.

  5. a3DI June 24, 2010 at 11:35 AM #

    i see ya big time! keep it up, you gone make it!

  6. Guy Routte June 24, 2010 at 8:47 AM #

    It was a pleasure meeting you and working with you, looking forward to great things from you in the near future and know that you have family in NY. Go Charly, be great, be grand, be yourself 🙂

Leave a Reply

