Berklee x Wyclef session

20 Jun

“So when you gon’ finally go on tour with me?”
Whenever you organize it, I said.
“Na, better yet.. I want you to teach violin at my school in Haiti. I’m building it for children.”

Wyclef stood in front of me, looking like he knows a joke I don’t; he always looks at everyone like that. Here we were, two old friends– face to face again after the VH1 SoulStage performance we did together.. and he was hiring me to teach his beloved people.

Fuck yea I’ll teach them!

Wait.. why was I in front of this guy, anyway? Like on a random Saturday? Oh, probably because he was in Boston to record the live orchestral parts to three of the songs appearing on his next album, The Haitian Experience. Aaaand probably because since he goes to Berklee, it’s only fair that he ask the string students there first.

We were all hired to originally play two sessions, four hours on both Saturday and Sunday. After the producer saw the light in just having us all day–and we actually showed up and recorded 3hr38min and STILL just finished one song out of 3, it made sense anyway. We’re featured on “Tonight”, “Historia”, and “Strangers in the Night” as a full string section, and we actually play completely throughout each of the songs. My friend Will was contracted to arrange all the music and he executed conducting it with such passion.

(I’ma be on tv like “THAT’S MY FRIEND Y’ALL!!”)

Then we lost ourselves within mountains of Haitian food, recorded the last two songs, and fuckin KICKED it. I could go into detail.. but you just had to be there. These few pictures, taken before my camera died, can’t begin to cover how fun this shit was.

PS: Jason Turbyfill is the most random name I’ve ever heard. Just for fun, somebody go facebook him.

2 Responses to “Berklee x Wyclef session”

  1. Sean Padilla June 20, 2010 at 12:39 PM #

    I’m happy for you, and I especially like the photo of you holding the conductor’s baton.

  2. a3DI June 20, 2010 at 12:50 AM #

    nice shorts! lol

Leave a Reply

