LAST job. for REAL.

16 Apr

remember when Fat Joe licked his shoes on MTV Cribs?

OK, so we all know that I know that you know that I know I live like a true artist–I don’t work by choice.
Until NOW.
For about a year, I was able to sustain life off careful planning, selling art, playing violin.. I mean don’t get it twisted, everybody has their Phone Off For A Few Day moments, I ain’t tryna lie to kick it.. but I lived for a year literally waking up and doing anything I wanted, completely supporting myself. I even inspired a few of my very talented friends to quit their jobs and chase their dreams while they still had life & love.

Then I got a job.

You can look at this two ways..

1.) I’m being a semi-responsible adult for even bothering to get a job ahead of time, before shit got down to the wire and I would end up needing it. I’ll have no excuse to take care of petty expenses or anything, and I’ll stay out of trouble. I can even pay my student loans while I’m in school so I’m not looking like What The Fuck when I leave Berklee.

2.) I just want to save up for 2 big dope ass monitors & a desk so I can experiment with my own mini-studio this summer. And I can continue to overstock on food in my fridge. And wear ridiculous shit I happen to come across from Bodega. And get a lace front.
(okay, 86 the lace front.)

I’d say it’s a mix of a little of both, I said A LITTLE of both. But the big thing we need to focus on here: THIS IS MY LAST FUCKING JOB. EVER.

And, you might laugh at this, I really don’t care: Instead of some weekend weed, I spent money on 3 great novels. Best $40 ever put to use since those Palladiums I got last week. LOL. (l-r: The Alchemist, PUSH, 1984)

READ A MOTHERFUCKIN BOOK.

6 Responses to “LAST job. for REAL.”

  1. Vanessa April 17, 2010 at 10:09 AM #

    Hey Jas!
    Your really really really have to read this book:
    “Paulo Coelho – Veronika decides to die / A novel of redemption”
    It’s one of the best books I’ve ever read….and this is a hot tip from GERMANY! 😀
    Have a great weekend….

  2. nell April 17, 2010 at 10:05 AM #

    i don’t like this new nose thing…but i like U 🙂

  3. Frenchie April 17, 2010 at 9:04 AM #

    i read push when i was in middle school or early high school..
    i was in a “the world is soo fucked up.” mood for like a year.
    the alchemist is on my reading list for the summer..

  4. Sean Padilla April 17, 2010 at 2:28 AM #

    Let me know what you think of “The Alchemist” when you’re finished with it.

    I’m drunk and you’re cute

  5. YAEL April 16, 2010 at 10:50 PM #

    Read ur blog, lol!

Leave a Reply

